Bicep Curls In The Squat Rack – SERIOUSLY?!?!

Rule 101 for training at a gym, you don’t do bicep curls in the squat rack. I shall repeat, NO CURLING IN THE SQUAT RACK.

NoCurlsInSquatRack

Now I do not care who you are, how heavy you’re lifting or how often you go to the gym, curling in the squat rack is a big NO. I mean seriously there are dumbbells that go up to 50kgs and plenty of floor space at the gym I go too,  and if that’s not enough for you muscle men and you can always rack up on the spare Olympic bars with weights and go macho crazy for all I care – just don’t do it in the squat rack… particularly when people are actually wanting to do squats and there are only 2 squat racks at my gym so they always in the highest of demand, so if you don’t actually need them for their actual intended purpose (to squat) then move it.

Girl_Who_Squats

Now I understand  the whole ‘curls gets the girls’ dribble, but you know what, that’s not going to work if you have the guns up the top but pins for legs, so use the squat rack, I’m all for it … BUT use it for it’s intended use … SQUATTING, no curls in the squat rack. You can go Ass-To-Grass, Pistol Squat, Wide-Stance Squat, Split Squat, Stiff Squat, Jump Squat … JUST NO CURLS, trust me it won’t get the girls (well the gym ones) you will just be the gym jerk…

JessEB_sQUAT rACK

End of rant, thanks for listening! Whilst your hear… What ticks you off at gym?

JessE-B xx

Girl_Who_Lifts

7 responses to “Bicep Curls In The Squat Rack – SERIOUSLY?!?!

  1. You know what really grinds my gears …. people who feel the need to use EVERY machine possible at the same time when its busy and there are other people who want to use those machines and when you go to use it they say “ahhhhhh I’m using that” …. no you weren’t gym jerk you were just curling in the squat rack !! ; )

    Rant over.

  2. I respectfully disagree about your rule of squats only on the squat rack. The squat rack is a multi-purpose piece of equipment. It was not made for squats only. You can do lunges, military press, upright rows shrugs, and yes, curls….all of which can also be performed using dumbbells instead, but of course, dumbbells targets the muscles differently. A primary benefit to doing these exercises on the squat or power racks is that you don’t have to strain your back to pick up the heavy Olympic bar. I curl 95 – 115 lbs using the Olympic bar. The squat racks allow me to place the bar down just a few inches gently and safely instead of down to the floor. Maybe in a hardcore powerlifting gym at busy times will a few not find it welcome but other than that, alternate uses to the squat rack are completely justifiable and I’d say, recommended.

    • Hi there 🙂 thanks for stopping by. It’s been approx 3 years since I posted that and ever have one of those ‘what was I thinking’ moments… literally having that moment now going through my blog. I am now a PT and my stance on this post (and a lot of my other ones) has changed drastically since spending the last 3 years working in the fitness industry. I agree and would definitely recommend to clients if possible to utilise these days as form and safety should come first. Cheers for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a comment