New Year’s Resolution: To February and Beyond

Sixty-and-Me-How-to-Stick-With-Your-New-Years-Resolutions

So the New Year dawned, giving us 2014 with another 365 days of opportunities ahead of us. The New Year is about a clean slate and new energy to accomplish those goals that eluded us last year. New Year’s Day even makes me feel a little giddy with excitement about the prospects for a fresh start. Well it’s almost February and we have 335ish days to go for Twenty14 and well let’s be honest – how many of you are still sticking to your resolution?

… Don’t worry, me either (well not 100%) – to make you feel slightly better about yourself (well it worked for me), did you know that on average only 20% of us actually keep to our New Year’s resolutions. I mean, it’s easy to make the resolution and sometimes easy even getting started, but to keep that promise to yourself and not revert to old habits can be tricky… I mean I am making about half my resolutions happen, but when it comes to the other half – OK manly the fooding side of things (and a little of the gym/exercise plan regime #iwasntveryrealistic #overcommittedmyself ) – well no deal. My love for Chocolate, Champagne and Cake hasn’t changed and if anything has turned into a daily thing along with the amazing discovery of SOCO’s with lemon lime and bitters and maxi-bombs. Then as for training side of things with me wanting to hit the gym 3 times a week and 4 runs a week, its more like gym 3 times and then only 2 runs. But that’s OK, I mean I still want to enjoy my life and it all comes down to finding BALANCE. I just need to work on finding the ‘balance’ when it comes to food. Having said that I have been doing my meal preps and healthy snacks for work (yes I pack my lunch and its often a woollies bag full, more than my overnight bags!) so when I’m at work I’m generally good, it’s just the wining/dining outside of work hours which is letting me down but dude I live in the city, it’s gotta be expected right?

Well after that bit of rambles it’s time to get the resolutions back on track and no just not me, you too! So I have compiled a list of key points that should us assist in getting these resolutions happening this year!

Ease into it with baby steps

baby steps

Like Tortoise did when racing the Hare. Go steadily and then build on that. I mean are you really gonna cut chocolate completely out of your life? OR for example hit the gym 5 times a week from 0 – lets be realistic one rarely goes from zero to hero like that.

Consistency

consistency_writing

What you do everyday matters more that what you do every once in a while. We become what we want to be by consistently doing what we want to become each day. Consistency is not perfection – it is simply refusing to give up.

Believe In Yourself

images (4)

Just because you fail once, doesn’t mean you’re going to fail again. Keep trying, hold on and always, always, ALWAYS believe in yourself, because if you don’t, then who will? & whilst we are on this point you’ll never believe in yourself, if you keep comparing yourself to others so just focus on YOU and what YOU are doing.

Your Gonna Slip

download (2)

No I’m not trying to sike you out, your most likely gonna slip up and not just once. But seriously success isn’t a straight line, its curls, 360’s, up, down, back and forth, round and round. Stay with it, keep chugging – think of the little engine that could, ‘I think I can, I think I can’ and before you know it you will be saying ‘I knew I could’. Failure can destroy you, OR it can make you so freakin’ mad that you work even harder to become the winner you know you are – BE THE WINNER. And when you fall down and lose your spark, get back up as the whole damn fire, BURN BABY BURN – YOU GOT THIS!

Watch Your Mouth

mouth

Now this point is where I need to be smacked in line, or perhaps handed a cake … of soap. The word ‘deserve’, which is used frequently in my vocabulary – you know, the one justifying your bad behaviour ‘I deserve that freddo frog’, ‘I deserve those glasses of champagne’ because I had a big day or after hitting the gym (I know seems pointless going to gym then eating Freddos – but I’m not going to lie… It happens, frequently … well I went to the gym, I deserve it …. & BAM THERE IT IS!!!) … reinforcing good behaviour with indulgencies isn’t a good idea – too many Freddos or glasses of bubbles later because you ‘deserve’ them, it’s always gonna end badly – catch yourself before you derail. Or if you have, like exhibit a (me) well then look at other ways you can reward yourself which aren’t food related (don’t reward yourself with food, you’re not a dog).

Don’t Be A DayDreamer

dreams

You can dream about your goals all you want, but you won’t ever reach them if you don’t do anything to achieve them! What’s that good old saying – dreams don’t work unless you do. Well yeh, it’s right so wakeup, get up and GO GO GO!!

Act Now

Robin-Sharma-Dream-big.-Start-small.-Act-now

When we put things off until some future-probably-mythical-laterland, we drag the past into the future. The burden of yesterday’s incompletions is a heavy load to carry, so don’t carry it and keep in mind that there are seven days in a week and someday isn’t one of them. Act now, just do it.

& LAST OF ALL ….

beautiful

Now you do know you don’t have to actually wait for the next New Year to change, nor do you have to start your goal on a Monday…

now

Start NOW, don’t put it off! So today here goes nothing, getting back on track. Now they say it takes 4 weeks for you to see your body changing; 8 weeks for your friends and family and 12 weeks for the rest of the world. So I’m going to test this, who is keen to join me? Miss Jasmine you’re in … So what I want you to do is comment below if you’re up for the challenge, let’s make you accountable. Take a pic of yourself tomorrow and that’s what your starting point to be – let’s see if we can see changes with ourselves come 28th of Feb.

JessE-B xx

1511807_10203069246636302_385355276_n

P.s. have you noticed I have been blogging more?! Well that resolution is looking on track – you aren’t too sick of me yet? :p

One response to “New Year’s Resolution: To February and Beyond

Leave a Reply

